Skip to content

Free infrastructure to start building with AI.

Free-tier limits for AI coding tools, app builders, hosting, databases, add-on services and open-source tools, checked against each service's official page. Limits change often, so check the service's pricing page before relying on them.

Last checked

AI coding

Need a free model API: Gemini API or OpenRouter. Want an in-editor assistant: Copilot Free, Cursor, Zed or Cline.

  • OpenCode

    Limited time
    • A few models are free inside OpenCode
    • Free for a limited time

    Heads-up No request cap published; some models may use your data

  • Cline

    Tool is free
    • Open-source extension, free for individuals
    • Bring your own API key

    Heads-up Models are still billed by your API provider

    • 2,000 code completions/month
    • Chat on GitHub.com and GitHub Mobile
    • Auto model selection only

    Heads-up Individuals without Copilot through an organization only

  • Gemini API

    Free plan
    • Many Gemini models free via Google AI Studio
    • Includes Gemini 2.5 Pro and the Flash models

    Heads-up Input and output may be used to improve Google products

  • OpenRouter

    Free plan
    • Models ending in :free
    • 20 requests/minute
    • 50 requests/day, 1,000 once you have bought 10 credits

    Heads-up A negative balance can cause errors even on free models

  • Cursor

    Free plan
    • Free plan, $0
    • Limited agent requests

    Heads-up Third-party models are not included

  • Zed

    Tool is free
    • Free editor
    • Unlimited with your own API keys or external agents (Claude, Codex CLI…)

    Heads-up Zed-hosted models are Pro only

App builders

Build an app from a prompt. Bolt meters tokens, Lovable and Base44 meter credits, v0 caps at 7 messages a day.

  • Lovable

    Free plan
    • 5 build credits a day, 30 a month at most
    • 20 Cloud credits/month
    • 4 credits for AI features in your app

    Heads-up The pricing page does not state project or custom-domain limits

  • Bolt

    Free plan
    • 1M tokens/month, 300K/day at most
    • Hosting and unlimited databases included
    • No card needed

    Heads-up Bolt branding on sites, no custom domains, tokens do not roll over

  • v0

    Free plan
    • 7 messages per day
    • Deploy to Vercel
    • GitHub sync

    Heads-up The pricing page does not state monthly credits

  • Base44

    Free plan
    • 25 message credits/month
    • 100 integration credits/month
    • Up to 5 apps

    Heads-up The pricing page does not mention custom domains on Free

Hosting

Static site: Pages or Netlify. Need server-side code: Workers, Deno Deploy or Vercel.

    • 500 builds/month
    • 100 projects
    • 20,000 files per site

    Heads-up One build at a time

  • Vercel Hobby

    Free plan
    • 100 GB data transfer/month
    • 1M CDN requests/month
    • 100 deploys/day

    Heads-up Personal, non-commercial use only

  • GitHub Pages

    Free plan
    • Sites up to 1 GB
    • 100 GB bandwidth/month (soft)

    Heads-up Not meant for running an online business

    • 100,000 requests/day
    • 100 Workers per account

    Heads-up 10 ms CPU per request

  • Netlify

    Free plan
    • 300 credits/month
    • Production deploy: 15 credits
    • 1 GB bandwidth: 20 credits

    Heads-up Hard limit, credits do not roll over

  • Deno Deploy

    Free plan
    • 1M requests/month
    • 20 GiB egress/month
    • 10 apps, 1 GiB KV

    Heads-up 15 builds per hour at most

Database

Postgres: Supabase, Neon or Prisma. SQLite: Turso or D1. NoSQL: MongoDB or Firebase. Cache: Upstash.

  • Supabase

    Free plan
    • 500 MB Postgres per project
    • 2 active projects
    • 50,000 auth users/month

    Heads-up Projects pause after 1 idle week, no backups

  • Neon

    Free plan
    • Up to 100 projects
    • 1 GB Postgres per project
    • 100 CU-hours/project/month

    Heads-up Compute suspends after 5 idle minutes

  • Cloudflare D1

    Free plan
    • 5M rows read/day
    • 100,000 rows written/day
    • 5 GB total storage

    Heads-up Limits are daily

  • Turso

    Free plan
    • 100 databases, 5 GB storage
    • 500M rows read/month
    • 10M rows written/month

    Heads-up Point-in-time restore for 1 day only

  • MongoDB Atlas

    Free plan
    • 512 MB storage
    • Shared RAM and CPU
    • Up to 100 operations/second

    Heads-up No backups

  • Upstash Redis

    Free plan
    • 250 MB of data
    • 500,000 commands/month
    • 10 GB bandwidth/month

    Heads-up One free database per account

    • 200,000 operations/month
    • 2 GB storage
    • Up to 50 databases

    Heads-up The pricing page does not say what happens past the limit

  • Firebase

    Free plan
    • Firestore 1 GiB storage
    • 50,000 reads and 20,000 writes per day
    • Auth 50,000 users/month

    Heads-up The Spark plan has no Cloud Functions

Add-ons

Sign-in: Clerk. Email: Resend. File storage: R2. Error tracking: Sentry.

  • Cloudflare R2

    Free plan
    • 10 GB storage/month
    • 1M Class A and 10M Class B operations/month
    • Free egress

    Heads-up Standard storage class only

  • Clerk

    Free plan
    • 50,000 monthly retained users (MRU)
    • Custom domain included
    • Organizations of up to 20 members

    Heads-up No MFA and no SMS

  • Resend

    Free plan
    • 3,000 emails/month
    • 3 custom domains
    • 30-day log retention

    Heads-up 100 emails per day at most

  • Sentry

    Free plan
    • 5,000 errors
    • 5M spans (tracing)
    • 50 session replays

    Heads-up 1 user only, 30-day retention

Open source

Install and run it yourself. Your limits are your machine and your API, not a free plan's quota.

  • Aider

    Open source
    • Pair-program with AI in your terminal
    • Apache-2.0 license

    Heads-up Latest release is from 2025-08-09

  • Continue

    Open source
    • Open-source coding agent
    • Apache-2.0 license

    Heads-up Install and run it yourself

  • Kilo Code

    Open source
    • Open-source coding agent
    • MIT license

    Heads-up Install and run it yourself

  • Goose

    Open source
    • Extensible AI agent: install, run, edit and test with any LLM
    • Apache-2.0 license

    Heads-up Install it yourself, pick your own model

  • OpenHands

    Open source
    • AI software-development platform, runs on your machine by default
    • MIT license

    Heads-up Cloud and Enterprise are separate services

  • Dyad

    Open source
    • Local app builder, an open-source alternative to v0, Lovable, Replit and Bolt
    • Apache-2.0 license

    Heads-up The src/pro folder uses the FSL license, the rest is Apache-2.0

  • PocketBase

    Open source
    • One-file backend: SQLite, realtime, auth, file management, admin UI
    • MIT license

    Heads-up Pre-v1.0; the GitHub repo is archived and moved to ganigeorgiev.com

  • Appwrite

    Open source
    • Auth, databases, storage, functions, hosting, realtime
    • BSD-3-Clause license

    Heads-up Install and run it yourself

Reference list from Free Tier Index